Author Topic: RSO Timbalai, just to confirm  (Read 9984 times)

lanvin

  • phpBB Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
RSO Timbalai, just to confirm
« on: August 29, 2009, 07:41:36 AM »
Salam semua,

helo, i baru baru ni tolong buat conversion bagi my junior, from a WGS84 shapefile to RSO timbalai. so simple procedure cam biasa, Projection>national grid>malaysia>rsotimbalai 1948 meter.

AOI shapefile ni di Kuching Sarawak, i boleh dapat nilai ratus ribu untuk X and ratus ribu untuk Y (ni kali pertama buat BRSO, biasa buat Kertau). Mana tau my junior kasi tau dia ada sat imej lain yang dalam 'BRSO', tapi nilai berjuta (2,000,000 X and 5,000,000 Y) dan dia kata QuickBird Imej tu dah digeoref. 

Nak tau mungkin BRSO kwsn kuching dalam nilai berjuta? i bisa buat RSO kertau tak pernah nampak nilai sebegitu pun. i caya nilai BRSO pun sama kan? kalau ada kawan yang bisa buat kawasan kuching boleh confirm?

Atau mungkin Quickbirdnya dalam Cassini? tapi sarawak ada cassini ke?

Sekian, Selamat buka puasa.

BernGPS

  • phpBB Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: RSO Timbalai, just to confirm
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2009, 10:35:52 PM »
BRSO for Sarawak uses false origin of 2 million E and 5 million N untuk mengelak nilai -ve.

lanvin

  • phpBB Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: RSO Timbalai, just to confirm
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2009, 04:07:20 AM »
trima kasih untuk reply. Tapi kalau i ada ArcGIS, cam mana i nak dapatkan nilai berkenaan? Adakah ESRI ada conversion siap siap atau kena download script?Adakah BRSO yang dalam berjuta itu masih bernama BRSO? kalau macam tu, BRSO ada dua nilai untuk sesuatu kawasan?

Trimakasih krn menolong.

MyGIS

  • http://www.facebook.com/groups/mygis
  • Administrator
  • phpBB Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 238
  • http://www.facebook.com/groups/mygis
    • View Profile
Re: RSO Timbalai, just to confirm
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2009, 04:48:41 PM »
Hi Lanvin,

First you must go to the data frame properties:









I hope this would help.

Lyes.

lanvin

  • phpBB Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: RSO Timbalai, just to confirm
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2009, 09:25:38 PM »
thank you mod for helping. Means just type in 2,000,000 in east and 5,000,000 in north at the colume of false easting and northing?

Does it mean the sarawak system is offseting the original coor to +2milE and +5milN? if i have  apoint coordinate said X=1, Y=1 then the result will be E=2,000,001 and N= 5,000,001?

If so, does we still name this offset as BRSO? or is there a new name for it? since the state gis user said it's BRSO, but BRSO (as of arcgis) is not refering to the same coordinate. Can anyone help me? thanks.

BernGPS

  • phpBB Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: RSO Timbalai, just to confirm
« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2009, 08:41:20 PM »
thank you mod for helping. Means just type in 2,000,000 in east and 5,000,000 in north at the colume of false easting and northing?

Does it mean the sarawak system is offseting the original coor to +2milE and +5milN? if i have  apoint coordinate said X=1, Y=1 then the result will be E=2,000,001 and N= 5,000,001?

If so, does we still name this offset as BRSO? or is there a new name for it? since the state gis user said it's BRSO, but BRSO (as of arcgis) is not refering to the same coordinate. Can anyone help me? thanks.

Yeap, I think its safe to Type the 2M and 5M in the box.

In Sarawak, its still called BRSO.  As I mentioned earlier, its just to avoid negative RSO values in the western region of Sarawak near Sematan

Ingintahu

  • phpBB Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: RSO Timbalai, just to confirm
« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2009, 10:03:08 PM »
Hai..
im try to convert latitude and longitude to RSO but i don't know how its...
what software you used? I try download argis 9.1 but occurred some error. I don't know why..Could you give me the direct link to download the software.. Hope u can help.. thanks

MyGIS

  • http://www.facebook.com/groups/mygis
  • Administrator
  • phpBB Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 238
  • http://www.facebook.com/groups/mygis
    • View Profile
Re: RSO Timbalai, just to confirm
« Reply #7 on: October 26, 2009, 11:22:53 PM »
Hello Ingintahu,

1. May I know which software are you using now?
2. I don't think you can download ArcGIS demo from www.esri.com . I believe you need to request for a demo CD from ESRI Malaysia or the ESRI distributor where ever you are.
3. Are you a student? If yes, which university?

Thanks

Ingintahu

  • phpBB Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: RSO Timbalai, just to confirm
« Reply #8 on: October 28, 2009, 07:37:17 PM »
Thanks for your reply.. im student UTM..for final year project.. So i try make conversion  latitude n longitude to RSO Timbalai and Kertau..I need to make a framework of mapping. I already ask from Jupen and they give me the parameter.. But i dont know how to do it with the parameter..About the software, i need to know which software can be used to done it... Cold you tell me the procedure to get the demo CD from ESRI Malaysia.. Thanks

MyGIS

  • http://www.facebook.com/groups/mygis
  • Administrator
  • phpBB Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 238
  • http://www.facebook.com/groups/mygis
    • View Profile
Re: RSO Timbalai, just to confirm
« Reply #9 on: October 28, 2009, 09:03:40 PM »
Hi,

Usually all the parameters would have been included already in the software. All ESRI, MapInfo and Safe Software products can do the conversion from RSO to WGS84 .
As for the CD, I am not sure what is the procedure, you can call ESRI Malaysia at 03-78749930 .
If you are a student, you can get a grant license from Safe Software, just download the software from www.safe.com, than I can help you getting the 1 year grant. Just pm me if you are interested.

Thanks.